Feta-and-dill-stuffed Pide

July 2, 2007 at 5:15 PM (cheese, dishes by cuisine, dishes by main ingredient, grains and grain-like, milk and milk products, Turkey, various greens, wheat)

dill-and-feta-pide.jpg 

This is one of the most delectable things I’ve ever eaten, and as fresh dill is now widely available locally here, I put some of it to good use. I found this recipe several years ago in a Turkish cookbook by Ayla Algar entitled Classical Turkish Cooking– definitely one of the most-treasured volumes in my collection!

Although I’ve already posted a recipe for filled pide, the filling for this one is by far my favorite, and therefore I only make it 2-3 times a year, and share it; otherwise, I’ll eventually nibble my way through every loaf!

The directions for making the dough, filling and shaping it can be found here, but I offer this filling for you to try. Oh, and this time, I replaced a cup of the white flour with ata (Indian, fine whole-wheat flour) and it came out splendidly!

Also, I have made a few adjustments to the original filling, but these will be noted.

Feta and Dill Filling (for small, stuffed, pide)

2 1/2 C (about 1 pound) crumbled feta (this means Turkish feta, which is milder than Greek-style…the author suggests replacing part of this stronger feta with Italian ricotta (which I did- 1 C) or cream/Philly cheese)

3 eggs, lightly beaten

6 T unsalted butter at room temperature (I used 3 T)

2/3 C finely-chopped fresh dill

I also have begun to add the following 3 things:

freshly-ground black pepper

the green part of green onions or chives- a handful

green chiles, minced (2) or powdered, dried chiles 1/2 t or so

Mix the butter and dill together, add the eggs and mix until blended, add the crumbled feta (plus the etc.)

Shape and fill as directed here.

I have one more thing to share with you in this little post…well, two things maybe. The first is that a very talented cook named Connie, with whom I loved chatting with at a former place of employment, was so enraptured by the combination of flavours in this filled bread that she designed a pasta salad using similar ingredients…I hope my memory is intact enough for me to share it:

Boil pasta until tender/al dente (I believe she used farfalle…butterflies/bow ties), drain and cool quickly in cold water.

Then she added crumbled feta, dill, olive oil, green onions 🙂 , perhaps some salt, pepper, and ground chiles to taste… toss well……lovely for a light summer feast!

Happy Independence Day to all of you…(though the original day was so long ago that now it’s a day to watch firework displays and get a little tipsy… 😀  ) But, maybe we ought to take a moment to consider those living in turmoil and fear, and send a prayer to them for peace.

 

26 Comments

  1. Musical said,

    Lovely! I will try this, may be replacing dill with cilantro or methi 🙂 not to desify the pide (dill is pretty much a part of desi cuisine), but i like dill only when its in lil’ amount…..if i have to use too much of any aromatic leaf, cilantro takes the trophy! but-just to give my taste-buds and this recipe an honest shot without modification, i am going to make 1-2 pides with dill as well 🙂
    Happy Independence Day to you too, Pel. May love, peace and happiness rule 🙂

    I think it would be great with either herb- especially cilantro. Oh yeah… 🙂 with green chiles… 😀 I thought of doing that, but haven’t yet…also spearmint with lots of mild ground red chiles would be great I think…nothing wrong with desifying anything dearie, I did that to the other recipe. Can’t help it sometimes… 🙂

    I grew up always associating the taste of dill with vinegar-pickled cucumbers…and my grandmother- (she loved it, as she used it for a lot of her summertime food.) So, it was a bit of a stretch for me to have it in other situations like this one.

    Thanks for the wishes!

  2. bee said,

    have you tried bulgarian feta, pel? it’s mild and not funky at all.

    I’ve seen it in LA at a deli, but alas…not common here, although a few specialty cheese shops have recently opened, so I ought to check it out!

  3. Anita said,

    Way to go with the wheat flour, Pel 😉 Now that you have featured this twice, I will try my hands at these next time in am in the baking-bread mood. They do look so pretty, with the kalonji…
    No dill (only in winter!), no feta either 😦 But how about paneer and yoghurt cheese…of course, you have to include chillies. Always. 😀
    And a very Happy Fourth of July to you too! Peace!

    Yay!! We’re free from the Brits…have some tea… 🙂 (I can get away with that since one of my best friends is UKish- and he does enjoy his tea…and scotch…)

    No dill until winter? You gotta freeze some for the year! 🙂 I just rinse it, strip off all the tender parts and jam it into a bag- it’s really easy to slice off what you need.

    No feta! Paneer is so much milder and fresh-tasting, but of course it would work…you might have to experiment a bit with seasonings, but I sure would love to see (and duplicate) what your talented taste-buds can come up with! Thick, well-drained yoghurt-cheese would be great! With chiles…naturally! 😉

  4. Suganya said,

    I may try this by omitting dill and filling with pesto or onion+tomato+ginger+garlic mixture with paneer. Either ways its a fine recipe. Also, am glad theres only 3T of butter!

    And really, with the other filling there is only a small amount of oil…it could also be left out altogether! Your idea of pesto sounds great!!! I’ll be trying that soon…

  5. mallugirl said,

    Hi, I am new to ur blog.. stopped coz u said pide and piqued my curiousity.. though i buy this often, never tried making it. thanks!

    Glad you stopped- it’s a totally easy recipe, despite all the text to describe the shaping; once you do it, you never forget! And though these are filled pide, it is also made plain to accompany other dishes….usually the dough is divided into two parts instead of eight to make large, flat loaves…

  6. elaichietcetera said,

    Oh, Anita..pssssst! Sssssshhh.don’t tell anyone: my friend James was over while I was making these (we ran errands during the long rise). He doesn’t care for kalonji…so I used black sesame seeds instead……though he liked it and I sent a couple home with him, to me something was missing: the combo of dill and kalonji with feta is fantastic…a must try!

  7. Musical said,

    Dill pickles and dill with pickled cucumbers are something totally different 😉 Pickles are welcome anytime, Pel. i am planning to include some rosemary pides too btw :).

    I forget that you are a sour-loving pickle-holic like me- no flavour combo is better than hot-sour-salty! 😉 I have so many in stock right now, I’d hate to make more… but maybe! 🙂

    Rosemary pide….I hear ya there Musical…..I had an OBSESSION with rosemary a few years ago….hadn’t used it before then…so good with cheese and cream and cheesey-white-sauces and potatoes and breads- all white stuff! Go figure…

  8. Cynthia said,

    Oh yeah, I would like to try this. Can I can put any kind of stuffing in the pide right Pel?

    Oh, experiment away! I use the pide dough for my pizzas… 🙂

  9. Musical said,

    yeah, Rosemary finds its way into every cheese foccacia i bake 🙂

    and pizzas too 😀

    Oh! Pizza again…I was just thinking of it 🙂 ….you make focaccia Musical?! Wow. I haven’t tried my hand at those yet, but would like to. I’m putting on weight talking to you… 😀

  10. Anita said,

    Do you know what else to do with those black sesame seeds? Are they regular sesame with the husk on? I have a jar sitting in the cupboard…

    I checked out wiki…lots of uses, but I’m not sure if they are a different variety than the white- they appear to be. I use them on breads, decorating sushi, ground and mixed with salt like a dry chatni podi…

    I’ve also made Chinese “sesame balls” (outer dough of rice flour rolled in sesame seeds, inner filling of sweet moong paste). Very delicious traditional Chinese new year sweet…but a bit oily! Fun to make though: they puff up and make squeaky noises when fried! 🙂

  11. Musical said,

    foccacia is a staple 😀

    hey Anita, you make nice bagles, don’t you. use them on the bagles. i have seen black sesame and nigella bagles here a cpl. of times. they taste good!

  12. Anita said,

    Yeah – on bagels should be good – it will look really pretty too! Thanks. Musical.

    They must be a different variety – they seem smaller too – at least, mine are – the exact size of nigella seeds…I always make sure to smell before I add assuming it is nigella! And I made the most awesome karhi with kalonji last night – ummmm…. 😀

    Oooooh karhi! Is it untraditional to like it with rice? Just wondering…

    Have you considered putting labels on your spice jars? 😀 It’s all the rage now I hear…hehehehehe

  13. Anita said,

    Most times I can see through the glass… 😀 I bet labels can come handy 😆 and a nifty idea they are!

    Yup, kardhi-chawal is the preferred combination. Except if it is my husband!

    Hehehehehehe…..I’m a labeling freak Anita! I put labels and dates (with masking tape) on everything in the fridge! 🙂 For spices, the jars have tiny labels (more for other people if I ask them to fetch something off the shelf or if someone wants to sniff and explore), but I don’t ever read them: I have a uniquely-different jar for every spice, so I know at a glance! 😉

    Don’t tell me TH has it with roti?!!!! [sighs] There ain’t no changing him eh?

  14. Anita said,

    This time when my father-in-law (the other roti afficionado) leaves for his extended US visit, I’m going to do some serious working on this roti-chawal imbroglio. He’s been married to a Kashmiri for almost 18 years! What will people say? I could not change even this basic thing! 😆 Kadhi with roti – people are already talking! Even dum-aloo with roti!!!! Blasphemous is what I say.

    Oh dear! perhaps annamoth by annamoth (I hope this is the right word?) you might one day win him over…

  15. Poonam Phatak said,

    Nice recipe! I love feta cheese…..Also I liked your calorie cut version by using less butter…Thanks for visiting my blog..

    I enjoyed it! What you have so far is inspiring!

  16. reeta said,

    looks awesome! feta is just yummy!!!

    Oh, I agree! A most versatile cheese.

  17. Musical said,

    Anita,

    Your comments really cracked me up 😀

    So Pel and Anita :

    i love them both with chawal: kadhi and dum aloo, but sometimes (especially for dinner) i do eat those with chapati or even toasted bread! i am as blasphemous in this aspect as can get 😉

    Well, as long as it isn’t a regular thing! 🙂 (I’ve had kadhi with toast now and then too…sometimes the amount of rice handy doesn’t match up to the amount of “with rice” stuff…)

  18. bee said,

    anita, mallus make idli podi with black sesame, and lots of other dishes. there’s an idli podi recipe on my site with it.

  19. shilpa said,

    Coming here after a long time, I have lots to catch up. I loved this filled bread. I am not a great fan of dill, but I am sure I will find something else to replace it. Would definitely love to try this sometime.

    Hehehehe…join the club for finding other fillings! 😀 Everyone else is thinking of other ones too- including me! This is a very versatile bread, and I’m sure you would create something delicious.

    It’s good to see you visit!

  20. Jyothsna said,

    Hi! I stopped by seeing the dill and feta! Nice and easy recipe!

    That it is! Thanks for stopping!

  21. Musical said,

    “sometimes the amount of rice doesn’t match the with rice stuff”

    even better 😉 thats how i like my food, more kadhi, less rice 😀

    you see, i have some foodie mutations 😉

    BTW, your pides are a big hit!!

    I’m glad to hear it! They’re too good, too easy, and too versatile to stay in Turkey…

  22. Anita said,

    Absolutely, Musical – more kadhi, more rajma, more dal makhani… 😉 Some rice is good.

    And Pel, I used black sesame seeds on my naan this week – by mistake ( I know, I know – the labels are a good idea 😀 ) – but didn’t panic assured in the knowledge that it has been done before. 😀

    Give me your address; I’ll send you some labels! 🙂

    They’re very pretty on pale bagels (I mean black sesame-seeds, not labels)…and then, for contrast, I use the white sesame-seeds on the very dark, chocolate bagels… 🙂 BTW I just found mahleb the other day…

  23. Manisha said,

    I saw sea lions instead of pide there. My mind is still on vacation. 😆

    It’s so nice to see you back! Did you enjoy yourself m’dear?

  24. silvana said,

    Great recipie. Thanks 🙂

  25. silvana said,

    Great receipie. Thank you 🙂
    http://myhealthislifeblog.com/

    • Elaichi et Cetera said,

      You’re very very welcome welcome. 😀 The whole book is full of astounding food- check it out if you can!

Leave a Reply

