Puneri Aamti

December 8, 2007 at 3:15 AM (dishes by cuisine, dishes by main ingredient, India, Jihva entries, legumes/pulses- whole or split, Maharashtra, Pune, toor/toovar/arhar)

puneri-aamti.jpg 

I think this dish is usually called kataachi aamti, and I would assume that this version hails from the city of Pune in the state of Maharashtra. This heavenly, thin dhal- at once extremely aromatic, sweet-sour, and spicy-hot- is sipped from small bowls or cups, and appears to be very closely tied to the enjoyment of a sweetly-stuffed roti known as puran poLi, which is more-often made with chana dhal or moong dhal. When preparing the sweet dhal stuffing for puranpoLi, the thin liquid from cooking the dhal is reserved for making this aamti, as well as a little of the sweet, coconut-infused stuffing for added body. This version is, instead, made of toor dhal, and enjoyed on its own, though recipes for puranpoLi also made of toor dhal do indeed exist!

I am sending this over to Linda of Out of the Garden, for her parade of toor dhal dishes for this months’s JFI. Or, is it a tour of toor?

Puneri Aamti

1 C toor dhal
1/2 t turmeric
1 t ground red chiles
2 t goda masala
1/3 C tamarind extract
1/3 C gur
2 T finely-grated coconut
salt to taste
2-3 t oil (recipe originally calls for 4 T)
1/4 t whole cumin
1/4 t mustard seeds
a pinch of hing
10 karipatta
1/2 C chopped coriander leaves

1)Rinse toor dhal well (soak for an hour or more if desired- decreases cooking time), add turmeric and boil in enough water until quite soft; add ground chiles, goda masala, tamarind extract, gur, coconut, and salt to taste; simmer for 10 minutes or so, adding water as needed to make a thin preparation.

2)Heat oil, add cumin seeds, mustard seeds, hing and curry leaves; when the mustard seeds start popping, pour over hot dhal; simmer a bit longer, then add coriander leaves, remove from heat and cover for a few minutes; stir well and serve in small bowls for sipping, with puranpoLi, or ladled over plain rice.

19 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    Hooray, you made it Pel! So glad you joined in… ‘parade’ indeed. Aamiti looks delish no matter the name, and I love the way you’ve presented it in a bed of rice. Thanks so much for participating in JFI Toor! 🙂

    Thanks for hosting! And a marvelous choice of ingredient you’ve made- my 100 hats off to you!

  2. Nupur said,

    Sounds heavenly!

    Transporting for sure; my mind leaves this cold weather with every sip!

  3. shilpa said,

    This is one of my fav. Very good entry Pel.

    Thanks Shilpa! Don’t worry, I still have (s)mashed potatoes enque… 😉

  4. Jyothsna said,

    Sounds good Pel!

    Oh, yes indeed!

  5. vimmi said,

    Lokes and sounds good. Tanks for the recipe

    No problem, haven’t seen too many posts of it, and it deserves a little spotlight!

  6. Manisha said,

    I haven’t had kataachi amti for years! It was the only part about making puran poli at home that I enjoyed. BTW, it’s made all over Maharashtra.

    [Repeats ‘Maharashtra’ several times] You know…that is such a difficult word for me yet! Wouldn’t it be easier if the name was changed to just plain ‘Marath’? 🙂 I’ve made this aamti just once before, but this one has a very balanced bouquet- nothing stands out too much, so it “sings” its own new song. Poetic eh?
    I think its about time you tackle this pair of dishes dearie, cuz things are getting screwed up!!! We have an Umrikan blogging Marathi, a Kashmiri blogging Punju, a Punju blogging Thai, and you- our token Marathi- blogging Native American!!! 😀

  7. Anita said,

    I make it every year when I make puranpoli! I love sipping it like a sweet-spicy thin soup…i didn’t like it at first – the sweetness takes some getting used to – and now I love it!

    The time that I make it is approaching – in a week or two!

    Oh, I spoke too soon…things are madder still! 🙂 I was shocked the first time I tried it- totally unlike anything that has gone past these lips before. It was the combo of the sweet-hot plus the dagad phool aroma that totally tugged the rug out from under my feet. But I like it now too! I’ve been avoiding making puranpoLi: D is a huge fan of coconut-sweets and I know I’ll be pestered to make it regularly thereafter. What is the occasion coming up that triggers your puranpoLi feast?

  8. Manisha said,

    I was wondering when she would complain about the sweet taste when I read the start of the second sentence!

    The Gujaratis make osaman which is similar and also very good. Esp for the weather we’re having. It’s been snowing since yesterday and still snowing. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…. and Anita’s making puran poli? Is it Holi already?

    Getting predictable isn’t she? 😉 The weather I mean… 😀 Osaman eh? Thank you Ma’am! That just might come in handy…

  9. Meera said,

    Aamti recipe is really nice. and I didn’t have a clue that it will take me to back my blog. 🙂 What a pleasant surprise!! I don’t yet have the tool that tells you, that you are being linked! I am still kinda wobbly in the field of food blogging, you know! But your encouragement matters a lot. Thanks!

    I’m just passing on the ecouragement I received (and still do!), and we all learn things one step at a time (I wobble a bit now and then too- especially if I have that one extra martini!)- no rush, this is all pleasure!

  10. musy said,

    Kataachi aamti! Pel, you are posting really yummy stuff these days 😀

    I know it! Someone had to step in for you while you’re busy… 🙂

  11. Anita said,

    I make puranpoli at this time of the year and not around Holi – and there hangs another tale, a very old one, in fact – going back generations!

    Ooooooh… I can truly feel shivers of excitement run down my spine!
    TLO, notice how she brilliantly builds up the frenzy of a post before she’s even begun! I would be forced to take a long road-trip for pics, contact estranged relations, and to write about German food to even TRY to compete! Nope… I’ll stick to my fragments of memory from my past life and quietly listen to this upcoming tale. 😉

  12. Manisha said,

    Oh god, yeah! We want puran poli! We want puran poli.

    Actually, I just want the post. I am not a puran poli fan. I am a fan of her writing though. 😀

    I have yet to try it, but I think I would like it…and yes, how DOES she do it?! 🙂

  13. roger said,

    Wow,

    This will be perfect for my next puran poli session.

    Thanks for the recipe.

    check out my puran polis here:

    http://soulcocina.blogspot.com/2007/12/puran-poli.html

    Nd maybe you can help identify this:

    http://soulcocina.blogspot.com/2007/12/whats-this-round-3.html

    Thanks

    Glad you enjoyed it, and them!

  14. Harshad Joshi said,

    Yeah, it belongs to Pune…

    Yes; thank you…

  15. Manisha said,

    🙄

    P: 😎 😯 😎 Nice day isn’t it? Wish we all had some chana jor garam handy.

  16. birdseyeview said,

    Though not Maharashtrian, we’ve often made this at home, especially in winter when the spiciness adds a welcome heat and when chholia are in season. It’s wonderful with just about anything, isn;t it?

    Yes indeed it is- light and nourishing!

  17. Sumitra said,

    Hi,

    This is my first time here, so hope you don’t mind my asking…..how do you know so much about Indian food? Sorry, my curiosity just got the better of me! You have such wonderful recipes here. Thanks !

    Thanks for stopping by! In answer to that I would say that Indian food has greatly interested me since I was quite young (11-12?), and that has caused me to pick up information over time- but certainly much moreso since I’ve joined the world of blogging, and I am eternally grateful for all of the kind tips and extra information that my readers have given me in that span of time! The variety is fascinating!

  18. Anita said,

    Readers? We are justreaders?!

    (A reader got directed to my blog from here and I came looking back…so much fun going thru these comments! 🙂 )

    There’s no need to explain- we all get nostalgic! 🙂

  19. Manisha said,

    Never mind her. She’s just needy.

    You mean…read-y?

Leave a Reply

